Databases A-Z (alphabetical) - Databases - Alphabetical and Subject Listing - Research and Writing Guides at Neosho County Community College

Pick a Topic

These links can give you ideas for a topic for your research, as well as reserach material.

CREDO Topic Pages This link opens in a new window
Use the A to Z alphabetical list to find Topic Pages of interest to you or browse by category (for example topics in subject areas, such as art, business or medicine).
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database contains excellent information on current topics. After following the Opposing Viewpoints link, click on the "Issues" tab for a list of popular topics, or enter a search term in the search box
Topic Search (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. It contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

Looking for a Specific Journal?

Type a journal name in the search box below to see if it is in one of the Library's databases.
In the search results list, the databases that contain that journal title will be listed below the journal.
Locate the appropriate database in the Databases A to Z list, and do a keyword search to start your research.

Alphabetical Listing of Databases

To begin your search in a database, click on a database link in the alphabetical list below, or go to the Databases by Subject tab to browse databases by subjects.

A

Agricola This link opens in a new window
More than 4.9 million citations of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Also included are the allied disciplines of animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, and earth & environmental sciences.
Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, offering full-text articles for more than 180 journals and reports
American History on Video This link opens in a new window
This collection provides the largest and richest colleciton of video available online for the study of American History, wth 2,000 hours and over 5,000 titles.
Annals of American History Online This link opens in a new window
AP NewsMonitor Collection This link opens in a new window
The Associated Press NewsMonitor Collection is a full-text database that contains harvested news from the Associated Press. When a link to a news story is clicked, you are brought to the Detailed Record and HTML Full Text of the story.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for more than 700 core English-language, scientific and technical publications, including engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management.
Art Abstracts (H. W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Includes advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture and art history.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, and architecture, as well as women’s, media or cultural studies; history; anthropology; industrial design; and other related areas of study.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Contributions come from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Auto Repair Center This link opens in a new window
Repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles.

B

Book Collection: Nonfiction This link opens in a new window
A cross-curricular database of over 2,700 books, providing titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
The industry's most popular business research database, featuring full text for more than 2,100 journals, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

CD

CINAHL Fulltext -Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals provides full text for more than 610 journals and indexing for over 3,000 journals, and includes publications from NLN and ANA. Areas covered include nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines; and access to health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
A balance of full-text technical journals and full-text consumer computer titles, including such topics as computers, telecommunications, electronics and the Internet.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Content includes all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. It covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
A great source to start your research -- with access to the world's best citable information, including over 500 reference ebooks, Topic Pages on many subjects, and seamless connection to information databases and Chapman Library's online catalog.
A great source to start your research -- with access to the world's best citable information, including over 500 reference ebooks, Topic Pages on many subjects, and seamless connection to information databases and Chapman Library's online catalog.

E

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books in all areas of academic subjects. These books can be viewed on a computer either on campus or off-campus and can be downloaded on to various mobile devices.
EBSCO Academic - Journal Articles This link opens in a new window
More than 8,500 journals and magazines, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles in all subject areas.
EBSCO Databases - Choose multiple databases This link opens in a new window
Use this link to search in several EBSCO databases at the same time.
Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks, Education Abstracts covers subjects including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This academic, ad-free version of the Encyclopedia Britannica includes text, images, and other media including a dictionary, world atlas, and thesaurus.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources.
Online digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (Go to EBSCO Databases - One Search) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. Includes the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

F

FactsOnFile History Online This link opens in a new window
This database contains three separate databases: American History Online, Modern World History Online, and Ancient and Medieval History Online. All databases can be searched at the same time or separately.
Films on Demand (on campus) This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a web-based digital library of films that allows users to view streaming videos on a wide variety of educational subjects from academic to life-skills content anytime, anywhere, 24/7!
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

G

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

H

Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
A rich collection of consumer health information, covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health.
Health Source: Nursing/ Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with strong coverage in nursing and allied health.
HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Search Census, Books, PERSI, Revolutionary War, Freedman's Bank and U. S. Serial Set.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A collection of 550 history titles, this full-text online collection features encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and guides of historical content.

IJK

Kansas Health Online This link opens in a new window
Kansas Health Online seeks to empower Kansans to make more informed health care decisions by providing helpful information in an easy to understand way. On the site, you can compare hospitals, find doctors, compare health plans, analyze symptoms, get the latest information on medical conditions, make healthy lifestyle choices, and learn more about health policy.
Kansas Memory This link opens in a new window
Kansas Memory has been created by the Kansas State Historical Society to share its historical collections via the Internet. The value of the site is in its rich content--letters, diaries, photographs, government records from the State Archives, maps, museum artifacts, and historic structures in Kansas.

LM

LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
Includes test preparation for Nursing and Allied Health; Entrance Test Preparation, Licensure and Certification Test Preparation and Nursing Continuing Education Courses.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Containing full text for more than 300 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals, this database is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Includes content on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that combines information from major respected reference books and literary journals. It contains full text for plot summaries; synopses and work overviews; articles/essays of literary criticism; author biographies; literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems; classic and contemporary short stories; author interviews; and classic texts.
Mango Languages - Language Learning System This link opens in a new window
Mango Complete courses give users comprehensive conversational language and grammar skills. Languages covered are: Arabic (Levantine) , Chinese (Cantonese), Chinese (Mandarin), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Farsi, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Haitian Creole, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Slovak, Spanish (Latin American), Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, and Vietnamese, as well as English as a Second Language for 13 languages.
Mango Languages online language-learning system combines real life situations and audio from native speakers with simple, clear instructions. Must have audio capability on your computer to uset his database.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database contains full text for nearly 500 popular magazines. Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and over 107,000 primary source documents, 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book); an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
MedicaLatina This link opens in a new window
A unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Includes citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites. Included are full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 journals.

NO

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, including comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
A complete readers' resource with information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles, plus featured content including lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, book talks, and recommended reads.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database contains excellent information on current topics. After following the Opposing Viewpoints link, click on the "Issues" tab for a list of popular topics, or enter a search term in the search box
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online and The Oxford Companion to Music

PQ

Professional Develpment Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text education journals throughout the world, including full text for more than 520 education journals and nearly 230 educational reports.
Proquest Nursing and Allied Health (State Library) This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,050 journal titles, with over 875 titles in full-text, and 12,300 full text dissertations covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine.

RS

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
A supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier, providing daily updates, which includes comprehensive full text for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database with more than 300 full-text journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, including common business types, help and advice, business plans, interviews, lectures and how-to videos help foster success in all aspects of managing a business. A collection of state-specific resources supports the researcher with demographic data and other local information.

TUV

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals, including the subjects of Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Theater in Video This link opens in a new window
Theatre In Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Topic Search (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. It contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Vocational and Career Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage for more than 330 trade and industry related periodicals.

WXYZ

The New Webster's Dictionary (2013 edition) This link opens in a new window
This is the New Merriam-Webster Unabridged dictionary, the world's largest and most comprehensive American dictionary.
This is the New Merriam-Webster Unabridged dictionary, the world's largest and most comprehensive American dictionary.
Webster's Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The world's largest and most comprehensive American dictionary.
Web News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Web News provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. This collection includes over 5,000 feeds across a range of business and general news topics.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with over 49 million bibliographic records for audio-visual materials, books, maps, musical scores, newspapers, and periodicals in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge. Some of these materials may be available through the Kansas Interlibrary loan system.

Citation Help

Always consult your instructor or class texts for the exact formatting and punctuation guidelines that are required for your class.

What's a Citation? This link opens in a new window
Learn what a citation is and how it is structured.
Citation Guide This link opens in a new window
This color-coded ciation reference makes it easy to get your author, title, and other parts of the citation in the right order. Just choose the citation style -- MLA, APA, or other, and start building your ciatatopm
APA Style Guide This link opens in a new window
This excellent guide from the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University will help you with your questions about this style of citation.
MLA Style Guide This link opens in a new window
This excellent guide from the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University will help you with your questions about this style of citation.
Citation Machine This link opens in a new window
Use this free citation builder to create citations for your Works Cited. Just remember to carefully look over citation to make sure it follows the rules.

Resource icons

NCCC databases -- Access these databases off-campus with you InsideNC ID and password.

Kansas State Library databases. Off-campus access to State Library databases may require that you set up an account with the State Library. This link will show you how to do that:

Kansas State Library Resources This link opens in a new window

Databases - Alphabetical and Subject Listing: Databases A-Z (alphabetical)