These databases are free to the public, so you will always have access to them. Unlike some other free websites, these databases have been vetted and are considered reputable. See our tutorials for more information.
- PubMed (free full-text journal articles on biomedical and life sciences from the National Institutes of Health)
- Mayo Clinic (comprehensive guides on hundreds of conditions)
- Library of Congress (the largest library in the world, with many documents available online)
- Google Scholar
- C-Span (one of the most comprehensive video archives of governmental and political content, including historical debates, speeches, rallies, etc.)
- GlobalStat (stats on globalization, sustainability, human development, income, dwellings, school enrollment, and more)
- Pros and Cons on Controversial Issues (compiles key points from articles on both sides of an issue into a "Pros/Cons" list. Consider using this resource along with All Sides and Opposing Viewpoints.)
- All Sides (offers articles on current events from many different perspectives. Consider using this resource along with Opposing Viewpoints and Pros and Cons on Controversial Issues to get even more perspectives and information.)
- BioMed Central (free, open access, mostly peer-reviewed research articles from more than 100 medical, biology, and biotechnology-related journals)
- SpringerOpen Journals (free, open access, mostly peer-reviewed research articles in all areas of Science and many of the Liberal Arts)
- Physical Review X (free, open access physics journals)
- Directory of Open Access Journals (an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.)
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
- Smithsonian Explore the collections of the world's largest museum, education, and research complex
